Hitachi Float Adjustment

TrevDaddy

I have consulted my Hanes manual, but the description is very weak. I have also searched with very minimal description of this process.

I have very poor fuel economy for such a small engine and lightweight truck. Just driving 30 miles took the needle from a mm past full to about 3mm below it. It also smells extremely rich when running... When my friend rebuilt the carburetor, I believe he simply installed a new float valve assembly and put the glass in upside-down (just a guess). I am new to carburetors so I was wondering if anyone else has dealt with this. I don't have a feeler gauge nearby, so how will I adjust the gap to the specified .039"? Also will I have to remove anything besides the glass and float valve assm. to do this? I appreciate the help, once I get the richness down, everything should be hunky dory with the engine.

Trev

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

just so happens, I'm rebuilting a friends 80 Hatachi carb today. here's a pic of how to adjust it, of course the carb is off the motor / engine. The measurement is 7.2mm or 5/16 where it shows to measure at #2. This is for the height of the float, let me know if you need the drop.

IMG_3170.jpg