L20B Rebuild

IvyCap

This is my first time rebuilding an engine and have been using guidance from a combination of the service manual, forums, the "How to Rebuild Your Nissan/Datsun OHC Engine" book by Tom Monroe, and YouTube for the teardown.

Starting a rebuild on an L20B w/ U67 head that came with a 510 wagon that I purchased a couple years ago. Some things I've noticed upon inspection during the teardown include a corroded section on the timing cover where the water pump is as well as some witness marks of the valves touching the pistons.

JGqUshG.md.jpg

It looks like the engine has been rebuilt in the past judging by the flat top pistons (from a 280zx? correct me if I'm wrong), aftermarket gaskets, and RTV. 

I plan on getting new valves, but is there anything I can do to salvage the pistons? Or should I just move on and get new pistons?

My goal is not to make power but to make the rebuild simple and reliable. As close to stock as possible would be ideal.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Measure the bore on another cylinder. If 86mm then from a '81-'83 280zx.

Then measure the bore much more accurately about 1/2" down in the front and back direction, then at 900 to that, then at 2" down and at right angles, and last at 3" down and at right angles. Record these measurements. From this you can determine if the cylinder wear is tapered or oval. If within specs pull the pistons hone the walls and put new rings on.

Do all the pistons have the valve marks???

As long as the valves can be re-faced and I assume new valve seats put in, they don't need replacing. 

Picture of the water pump area on the timing cover. Mine had some erosion on the case near the impellers. I use JB weld

UINO6sf.jpg

image.thumb.jpeg.e4bd7a7d5b189eb7a076fc1aedbb1ac1.jpeg

My timing cover is far more corroded than what you have shown. Verdict?

JGoKAJ4.md.jpg