'73 620 build

Chance

I recently picked up my dream truck since I was a freshman in high school and I'm ready to build it on a budget. just seeking some guidance to avoid having to spend more than I got to. 

I want to ka24de swap her so I don't have to worry about long distance travel with the carb and stuff. also the oil seems to be "repaired" by the drain plug and it has a slow leak and id rather put the money from buying a new oil pan into a ka swap. any advice would help. 

little backstory she's only had 2 owners, the second owner who I bought her from owned her since '81 he had a ton of receipts and record of the truck since then. pretty cool to me. 

thanks for any help. tried to figure out how to post photos but can't figure it out haha, any help would be appreciated.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome! Sounds like a fun project and one you’ll find plenty of info for which is great. I am a new member here also and everyone has been very helpful, but there are decades of threads on here already, these forums are just an amazing asset to the Internet so definitely use it!

Anyway, good luck from one new member to another, keep us posted with the build 👍🏻

Edited by 1001001SOS
  • Like 1

Considering you are on a budget then a swap is out of the question. Im not trying to be negative but a swap is easily going to cost you at least 5k to 10k. These stock engines are hard to kill, And are pretty reliable. Ive been driving mine to work and back every day (100 miles round trip) for months at a time. Ive driven 1200 miles round trips with no issues at all running the engine at 4k rpm for hours on end. Just fix the leaks and keep up in maintenance and it will outlive you. Once you work out any litle bugs it might have they are great little trucks.

• Like 1

I agree with the above statements...

I daily my  carbureted L16 powed 521 about 9 month out of the year....