Working on the Dually - VG33ER swap

DuallyDatsun

I've been messing around with this for a couple months, between bad weather and illness progress has been kind of slow, but I'm chugging along. 

Short story version. I have an 81 720 dually. A couple years ago the engine lost oil pressure on the freeway and seized up. Last fall I picked up a supercharged xterra for $800. This year I'm going ham and putting the engine in the dually. 

First started off by clearing out and cleaning up the engine bay on the dually.

I chopped the rad support across the front I such a way that I can use some small plates and bolt it back into place later, simply because doing the swap was going to be a much easier process with the entire front end open. (Honestly don't know why more vehicles don't have easily removable rad support sections)

20220127_181042.jpg

20220328_104836.jpg

• Like 1
  • Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Gave the engine a good wash, then started doing some test fitting so I could work on mounts and such while I wait for parts. 

It's a tall boy. Gonna be chopping the hood into a ridiculous reverse cowl to make it fit, but I expected that. Among other fitment issues. Can't really have it sit lower than that, because of where the oil pan hangs down to, because I plan on lowering the hell out of the truck later.

Engine mount locations are close enough to give me a good idea of how to modify things to make them fit where I want them. 

I still need to bolt on the trans and see where it is going to be sitting underneath everything. Because more than likely I'm going to have to make some big cross member modifications to mount it up in there. 

20220328_105551.jpg

20220328_105604.jpg

20220328_105617.jpg

20220328_105631.jpg

20220328_105650.jpg

20220328_105701.jpg

Edited by DuallyDatsun
  • Like 1