81 720 4x4 5 speed transmission help

ibrokeit02

My transmission started making a knocking noise while idling and in 5th 2 days ago. I just bought it a few weeks ago and I'm new to datsun. I'm assuming it has the z22 and FS5W71B but not really sure. I need to know if it's worth fixing or what transmission I can replace it with.

• Like 1
  • Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Does the noise go away when you push in the clutch and put it in any gear?

If it does you likely need a front clustergear or input shaft bearing.

Quit running and driving it, you could destroy it.

You need to pull the transmission and pull the front case apart.

Here is an article I wrote about pulling the front case off, it's not that hard to do.

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/28473-how-to-put-together-a-shortshaft-5-speed-for-a-l20b/

• Like 1

My transmission started making a knocking noise while idling and in 5th 2 days ago. I just bought it a few weeks ago and I'm new to datsun. I'm assuming it has the z22 and FS5W71B but not really sure. I need to know if it's worth fixing or what transmission I can replace it with.

Look on the passenger side inner fender below the hood hinge. There will be a small credit card size engine tag. Near bottom left it will say TRANS/AXLE...... just to the right, the transmission used. The engine size is just above this.

The fill bung is about half way up the drivers side of the transmission. Remove and if you can dip your finger in the oil it full. If not you can top it up or drain by removing the bung on the bottom and replace the oil.

This is about all you can do if this is a transmission problem. Anything else it will have to come out.

• Like 1

The noise goes away idling when I push in the clutch. It makes it in every gear except 4th when I'm going down the road.