Stupid mistake of ignorance. Oil pump installation.

I an running a Z24i in an 86 D21 pick-up.  I installed a new oil pump and want aware that I had to align the timing marks. I tried to start the motor and it was back firing, Didint really have time to mess with it any further. Should I be able to just pull the pump and re align the shaft or have I seriously fucked something up? I'm not really a mechanic but I do atleast repair and maintain simple stuff. Just looking for a little insight from some more experienced folk like yourselves

• Like 1
  • Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

No harm is done.

Set the engine to TDC on the compression stroke of the number one cylinder using the notch on the back of the largest crank pulley and the saw tooth timing scale near the alternator just behind it.

Lparts002Large.jpg

L20Btimingscales0011Large.jpg

Remove the distributor by removing the two mounting bolts to the timing cover. This will keep your ignition timing intact. Fit the oil pump and drive spindle together and install so that when you look down on top of them the spindle is aligned like below....

distributortiming.jpg

Take note that there is a large and small half moon on the top of the spindle. Small side to the front. Install the distributor and you should be able to carry on like nothing has happened.

• Like 3

No harm is done.

Set the engine to TDC on the compression stroke of the number one cylinder using the notch on the back of the largest crank pulley and the saw tooth timing scale near the alternator just behind it.

Lparts002Large.jpg

L20Btimingscales0011Large.jpg

Remove the distributor by removing the two mounting bolts to the timing cover. This will keep your ignition timing intact. Fit the oil pump and drive spindle together and install so that when you look down on top of them the spindle is aligned like below....

distributortiming.jpg