z20s Engine Rebuild Questions. Newbie

Hondanx250

Hey Guys, I have made a few post on this engine.

Its a Napz Z20s Engine block.

Alright, So i ran into a Dilemma with a broken bolt. But Had a Welding shop Get it out and re-tap it.

So i kinda been put off on building it back up.

Well anyways. This is my First Engine Rebuild and I am a Newbie at it.

I want to do it right the first time. So here are my questions.

I want to get the Freeze plugs, Cylinders Bored and Hot Tanked.

2 of the 3 i know you can do at home. But I have never done it before. My Friend was telling me just take a pressure washer to the block. But i don't want it to instantly rust. He was also telling me i didn't need to change the freeze plugs. But i said why not? I already have them and the engine already taken apart. I want a Fresh new engine when i am done.

The cylinders have some Deep Scratching from what i was told broken rings. (Pictures Attached)

Should i have the Machine Shop do the work? On Replacing the Freeze Plugs, Hot Tanking it and boreing it(to size needed)?

Also, On Timing the Engine, How do you go about doing that? Setting the timing chain? So the Valves open and close are the right time? I forgot to mark the chain when i took it apart.

Also one of my connecting rods is shorter then the others. Not sure if i should be to worried about that? because it was running fine before i took it out? Or try to find one?

Open to All Information and Advice, Criticism... Whatever you want to toss at me.

DSCN0573_zpsuxz9yw8u.jpg

DSCN0574_zpsd8pa2gru.jpg

DSCN0575_zpsj7uoltoy.jpg

DSCN0576_zpssgxhmgcq.jpg

DSCN0577_zpsun82seqr.jpg

Not sure what this was? But its broken in half.

DSCN0571_zpskdsvoc6x.jpg

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You won't have a new engine. It'll be a good rebuilt engine.

No need to hot tank it. That is for engines which have been left out in the rain.

Yes, replace the core plugs.