L18 motors

jimmy billy

Ok im new to the datsuns. I just got my first 72 4dr and love it. But it has no motor. The 4speed tranny is their and prity much everything else. Now it used to have a 1.6 in it and was swaped to a L18 then pulled before i got it. So i heard that i can get a motor from 60's datsun trucks up to 90's. My question is what modle of L18 will bolt up to my tranny and run carb from the 90's??? Theirs lots in the recker of those years.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Ok so it mite not be a L but my budy who is big into the 510's sead something about a certien motor that would work but it has to be the right one. Im guessing it would be in a nissan.

L motors will be the only ones that bolt right up. Plenty of other Nissan engines have been swapped into Datsuns though. Youve given us nothing to work with on giving you an answer to your vague question. 

If your buddy is "big time into Datsuns" then just ask him what engine hes talking about and go get it. 

Yes you need to do a lot more reading and research, but you came to the right place for that.

Ok im new to the datsuns. I just got my first 72 4dr and love it. But it has no motor. The 4speed tranny is their and prity much everything else. Now it used to have a 1.6 in it and was swaped to a L18 then pulled before i got it. So i heard that i can get a motor from 60's datsun trucks up to 90's. My question is what modle of L18 will bolt up to my tranny and run carb from the 90's??? Theirs lots in the recker of those years.