76 king cab 620 4x4 build theories and considerations

76*620

Hello,

So obviously you all know I am new to registering to this forum, I have built a few z's and used this site as a resource for years never feeling the need to register since things are covered so well in the posts. I have recently acquired a 620 king cab and have kinda decided on a 4x build for it. Since it is winter I am in the planning stages. initially I was thinking of an sr swap but the 4x idea has bit hard. The motor is a question debating between a tdi or ka but everytime I think of these engines  and the transmissions I would like to use there are issues that lead me to the v8 as a simple solution. I would like to use a 200r4 or 700r4 backed by a np205 transfer case. Right now I have a 93 jeep grand cherokee in the yard and it seems like a seems like a simple enough job to take the four corner coil suspension and axles out to place on the datsun. I have not taken measurements or anything on it yet but I see little visual difference saying dont do it. I will post some pics of  the truck in a bit, until then I am going to post what little work gets done and any ideas I have here.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

DO you plan to go 4 wheeling? If so I would look for a stronger set of axles than what is in that Cherokee. V8's are fun but I went from 8mpg in my CJ to 24ish in my KA 620, still fun costs less per grin.    :)

Edit, thanks for that Jrock :)