New to RATSUN check out my GOON

hey guys picked up my 1971 goon this past november. traded a miata for it. the car my mostly stock except under the hood OBD1 KA24DE!!!! sweet. i had always liked 510's and found one i could get. i would love to get another one, either a 2 door or 4 door sometime in the future, damn solid axle goon. haha. anyways im a mechanic by day, but i work on euro imports and love my goon, no matter how much people make fun of it, i love it. it has a power lumbar/side bolster seat on the drivers side, but god its hideous. the mini mags were really rough so i sanded and polished them with a mothers polish ball and wheel polish paste, which works awesome. i went to a junk yard helping a friend and found a 1981 280zx with complete front suspension/brakes, needless to say i took it all. i cut the stock zx spring mounts off and ground the welds clean. then i took my 510 stuff off and cut the stock spring mounts off and transferred the stuff over to the ZX strut tubes. to hold them up i used.....uhhh 2.0" I.D. split collars from fastenal lol, cause im too cheap for coilovers. its a slow project, currently im painting it OD green and pulling the trans/diff to clean things up a bit. plenty of plans for the future but loving the road to get there. i was driving it a bit before i pulled the diff, and it has a few kinks but nothing major.20121114201212.jpg

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

to lower the rear i need new shocks and to notch the floor under the rear seat. i took a rear leaf out and added some 3/4 inch blocks to lower the rear, need to roll the 1/4's though. the front is a bitch to adjust, wish i had the on-car spring compressors, the front can go down some but i need long wheel lugs and spacers. i picked up some 80's riken 14's from ebay, need spacers to fit those bad boys, stupid positive offset.20130307171147.jpg

20121231170655.jpg