how to polish plastic/ revive light assembly

okay first off sorry all of the oics are out of focus, the auto-focus on my cheap ass camera isn't working and there is no manual setting. if you've got a digital SLR for sale or trade pm me... i will put it to good use.

so i'm currently rebuilding my 620, one of the chores on the list is freshening up all of the plastic and light assemblies. i figured i might as well take some pictures of the process. i've only been working on cars for a year now so i'm a beginner as far as automotive stuff goes, but i've been polishing random materials for a few years. i've done a lot of plastic.

this is the subject: looks okay, could look better. (sorry again about the focus, yuck)

DSCF4181.jpg

DSCF4182.jpg

here's the bad news: if you want to get them shiny, no more cool japan stamp

DSCF4190.jpg

take your lense and wash it with some dish soap.

DSCF4196.jpg

wet sand it. for plastic i use 220 grit, then 500, and then 1000. the buffing compound will do the rest. we'll get to that in a minute.

DSCF4230.jpg

use a sanding block, if you don't have one a moist sponge works well. start with the 220 grit sandpaper.

DSCF4184.jpg

okay plastic is really sensitive stuff. you want to keep your sandpaper clean. sand your piece in a circular motion, shift the weight around (they aren't perfectly flat) and make sure to get all of the deep scratches out . keep rinsing the sandpaper clean every 30 seconds or so.

DSCF4194.jpg

once you get to the end of the 1000 grit part, it should be a uniform haze with no scratches. whoops i missed a spot.

DSCF4205.jpg