521 Engine Power Loss

Sorry if I do not sound very technical… I am new to working on cars (better late than never). I am intermittently losing power to my engine. I will be driving and I lose all power to the engine and have to pull over. If I try and start it back up immediately... nothing will happen when I turn the key. It’s like my ignition system was pulled out. If I wait a few minutes it will turn over and start running really rough and die in 3 seconds. If I wait 20 minutes it will fire up and run like nothing happened. I have replaced my ignition coil, condenser, voltage regulator and alternator. I have wire brushed all my connectors going to the fuse box and replaced ALL my fuses. I am not sure if this is related…. But I figure I will throw it in. When my lights are on, my left dash signal is on but very dim and my right dash signal is off. When I hit my right signal it flashes like normal (nice and bright). When I hit my left signal, the dim light will just flash. All the actual turn signals ARE working. When I wire brushed everything last week, it was the first time I had seen the right signal light in dash come on when I turned my lights on. After driving a few days… I had the power loss again and the right signal in the dash turned off again. Please help! I am tired of getting stranded! Again, I am new to working on cars so the more description on responses, the better. Thanks!

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Like I said in a earlier post Ray Stonehocker could give it a once over 425 931 31 21 maybe Jeff Hino also know as Icehouse on this forum.

If your ignition seem to die are you cking for 12volts anywhere? You got a volt meter? spark at the coil. next time this happens