521 brakes pumping up

I notice my brakes were pumping up and geting harder everytime i hit the brakes. But wasnt enought ot really overheat them. In morning the pedxal would drop more normally but later it would start getting tight. I mean like I have my parking brakes on and just put your foot on the pedal there was no movement.

Well last night driving home It really hit and had to go to my parents. as they were cooking. Well at least the back was.

I told my dad I think its the master cylinder as why both back drums were hot.

He want to pop a drum off I said OK to make him feel better. But seen as I hit the blled screw it released and worked ok. never took the other drum off. Just rebleed the brakes and seems normal now.

Now the pedal goes lower enough to trip the rear brake light switch(which also had a blown fuse). Got that fixed and then thought crap I have a single resivoir master didnt even ck if the Froont brakes were hot.

any thoughts???????

Could it be the taiwan master with a ck valve or the distribution junction has a ck valve?

never had this happen before. But I assume it was the master right off.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

This happened to me once before, and I chased the problem round and round until I found out that the little screen inside the master cylinder reservoir was pushed down too tight and not letting fluid return. I would be driving, the pedal would get stiffer and stiffer, and eventually the brakes would lock up, and I wouldn't be able to drive it for some time. I'm not saying that that's for sure your problem, but try taking the little screen out and see if that does anything for you.

Even if that's not it, you're on the right track suspecting the MC. There's some reason that the fluid isn't returning from the rear wheel cylinders. I'm just throwing that out there as a very unusual situation that I've seen first hand.