L16 head on L20B

sdsurf

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If a true L16 head with about 38cc chambers, the compression would be way up there. (9.32} Depending on the head number, the valves and ports would likely be smaller and have a 'lighter' cam although an L20B one could be installed in it. Also the port shape might not match the L20B exhaust manifold. Square vs. round?

I have put an L16 from a '71 521 onto an L20B motor. I checked with the Datsun dealer and they said it would not fit, so I did it anyway and went back and showed them. Ran fine without pinging.

I am no engine expert, but off the top of my head, you get smaller valves, but a higher compression ratio. Try to use the L-20 camshaft and rockers.

The ports on the manifold side of the head probably are smaller, and may not match the exhaust manifold. L-16 has a semi square port, L-20 has a round port.

if you have a 521 with the stock squareport exhaust manifold.

it will be OK for a daily driver.

As the others said it will have smaller intake ports and valves.

I woundnt ever worry about swapping the cam. Esp if you dont know what your doing. the rockers belong to the cam lobe they cam from and shoulf not mix them.

L20 heads

U67 square port

W58 round exhaust port

N60 (i think is another)

Pac coast.

I would NOT waist your time with a 210 head in the first place unless its just to drive around. Daily driver ect. Thats it.

just use the 210 to get the car/truck going.

wait long enough a A87/w53 head can be had for cheap.

I have a stock L16 210 head I keep, I used to trouble shoot when my motor had oil going in the pan. thinking it was the head/or head gasket but finding out later it was a hole in the front cover.

If anything I have learned is Bolting a 38DGES Weber down draft carb on a L motor gave the most performance gain and didnt have to break open a motor.