Would I be crazy to try rebuilding my own 5 speed?

Hello all! I have a 81 Datsun 720 with a bad tranny, I might just try to snag a used one to replace it, but I'm intrigued with the idea of rebuilding it.

I'm no master mechanic, and I don't have a well equipped shop, but I learn fast. I found a thread on here awhile back discussing this same topic but can't find it now. As I understand it, other than the massive number of parts that need to be kept in order, the main drawback for a backyard mechanic like me would be the need for presses to install seals and bearings?

Anyways, I love a good challenge and the pride that comes with a difficult job done right, any input?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If you can afford to, and think that you'd be able to do it, I say go for it. cool.gif But just in case, make sure you have another one or know of another one first.

If you have questions, we can summon Mike to answer them laugh.gif

If it shifts ok but makes lots of noise it most likely needs bearing(s) replaced. Jumping out of 5th can also be a bearing.

You've got nothing to loose by trying.

Popin outta 5th could be a bearing. Hummm mike please elaborate some on this if ya could please. my brother has a ka tranny doing this. He said I could have it and I was gonna rebuild it. I know it growls but the popping outta gear I figured on maybe being a shifter fork problem or a mucked up gear or something.

Jumping out of 5th can also be a bearing.

Can be. I pulled a couple apart that had this problem and both had really bad bearings in the adapter plate. The main and counter shafts would wiggle around quite noticeably. The 5th gear and shift fork looked ok, nothing to explain what was wrong.

The good thing about 5th is you can get at it easier than the other three gears to the front. Well relatively 'easy'.