Need pointers on painting my stock rims black

Eagle_Adam

The title says most of it but here are the details. I want to take the rubbers off of my rims so that i can scuff and paint them b4 they get some fresh new rubber! I have never done this before but it seems easy enough. i was just going to wash and degrease them then a light scuff with sand paper b4 primer and paint. Any help is welcome thanx in advance!

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Actually, what you said you were gonna do will work. You can use Mineral Spirits too, thatll clean the shit off really good, then wash with soap/water and rinse well. be sure and scuff well, seems a lot of times people dont and it chips off easy (partially due to the spray can paint too)

Do you have any recommendations for paint? i dont have a compressor so i figured rattle can was my only option, i was wanting a flat black that will look good with the dog dishes that came with my truck. I was also wondering if anyone could tell me how to take the old rubbers off? so i don't have top go to a tire shop just to have them do it.

Do you have any recommendations for paint? i dont have a compressor so i figured rattle can was my only option, i was wanting a flat black that will look good with the dog dishes that came with my truck. I was also wondering if anyone could tell me how to take the old rubbers off? so i don't have top go to a tire shop just to have them do it.

rattle can will do fine, specially if you are just doing flat black. As for taking rubbers off, lol yer on your own :rofl:

Cut them off if you dont want them, tire shops normally charge to just take the old tires off, unless they are taking them off to put new ones right back on...

just get some nice krylon primer and krylon flat black.

prep good and its more than adequate.

I may be able to lend a hand getting the old tires off, shoot me a PM