Polishing instructions?

Hey guys, I'm wanting to polish my valve cover on my A15. I'm a total noob to metal polishing, so is there anything I need to know specifically? What kind of compound do I need to invest in that would work well? And also, what do I need to do about sealing it to keep it from rusting?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Wire wheel it to get all the paint off, SOS pad it to get all the grease and rest of the junk off. then just get one of those bench wheel buffer deals and goto town! Sanding only gets it so so, you can use some high grit sand paper and smooth it out mostly, then just run it under a buffing wheel. some aluminum black compound stuff will work..

http://www.toolplanet.com/product/4-pack-BLACK-Polishing-Rouge-Buffing-Compound-for-Aluminum?utm_medium=shoppingengine&utm_source=googlebase&cvsfa=1799&cvsfe=2&cvsfhu=313030353731

should be able to get it at a napa or hardware store sometimes. Dont think the brand matters, just threw that link out there for a reference....

haha yeah. just go easy with the wire wheel, if you can use a brass one or even use some aircraft remover to get rid of the paint. might save you a little smoothing out? I never had a problem with it tho.

Just fyi, seems like the polish goes away after a while, some people put clear coat on there but it chips/peels after a while and kinda looks like poo... might be better to just leave it as is and re-polish it once n a while. ill let someone else chime in on that im not sure :D

haha yeah. just go easy with the wire wheel, if you can use a brass one or even use some aircraft remover to get rid of the paint. might save you a little smoothing out? I never had a problem with it tho.