My '71 510 project

I'm a newb to these cars and I'm starting out with a blank car, literally. I have no experience when it comes to these cars as this is my first one that I've always wanted. So my question is this, what is the perfect set-up when it comes to nothing more than a shell to start out with? I'm friends with the local Nissan shop that I'm getting the car from so I will get some help, but I'm looking at this as a slow going project that I will enjoy in the end. I work at a shop that has 5 CNC mills, so I can make whatever I may need to go further along, but I need to know where to start. This will not be a race car, just a weekender that will be used for pure enjoyment. When I mentioned that this is a blank canvas, I mean there is not even any wiring or suspension so let me know. Thanks for all of the help, and thanks for letting me ramble on :lol:

George

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

we started the same way except just a shell with the suspension. and we started out rebuilding the suspension new bushings and a steering kit. as well as removing the rear crossmember w/ control arms and the diff. we cleaned em up and painted on some really thick Rustoleum to prevent further rusting

I always wonder how these cars get to this .

esp when the bodies are still fairly straight. I seen beaters still on the road in worst shape.

Nice body on the car.Straight but alot of rust hole behind in the rear bumper area. That what is seen. Whats hidden is another thing.

if you dont have the extra parts this will cost you alot. Youll need to find another car to fix this and and that other guy might be better than fixing this one.

As for working Nissan friends dont mean much anymore. I go to nissan and they just give me crap I cant get this. What is a datsun ect. Then give them a part # then they go OH I didnt know they still had this.