1979 pickup 620 head gasket job info needed

79rv620pickup

Hi, I think my head gasket blew? getting water in crankcase and running hot.

I went to a shop around the corner and the guy refused the job saying when you do a gasket job you have to replace the timing chain cover? and when you loosen the timing chain? sometimes the parts come apart in pieces? Is this true? How did the timing chain get involved to do a head gasket? I'm no mechanic but might become one for this job since he said it might cost 13 to 1600.00 to change a head gasket? Does any of this sound logical to anyone ?

Thanks for any help anyone can provide

Harry

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Mods: maybe this thread would be better responded to in the "ENGINE" category?

In regards to your problem, IF it is a headgasket, unless there is something else really wrong with the motor, that price is ridiculous!

However, he is correct that the timing chain does come off when you remove the head.

I recently did my own head gasket and timing assembly (with no previous experience) with help from everyone here.

This video from Hainz (Banzaii) was my step-by-step guide during the process.

http://www.guba.com/all/search?query=hainz&set=5&x=34&y=3

It's really not hard, and parts are inexpensive.

Do it yourself, and post your questions in the 'engine' topic section with lots of photos.

You're in the right place!

You only need to replace the timing cover if it's cracked, worn or corroded.

Corrosion is the most common problem, it will be pitted in the waterpump area. This can lead to cavitation and overheating. I've only seen a couple bad covers.

if you cant do it yourself, DO NOT go back to that shop.

the timing chain is attached to the cam/head(=OHC), so it has to be removed to pull the head off. it can be done w/o issue...