Knocking Noise and White smoke

Hey everyone, first time posting and I'm super happy I found this site! 

So short story, just bought a 1986 720. The story was, it was a daily driver but the owner got arrested and then left it sitting for about 6 months. I bought it, changed the battery, gave it an oil change, fixed the fuel pump issue it had (replaced a fuse) and now it runs. It runs but it has a horrible knock and spits out white smoke pretty bad. This is my first project car. I want to restore it because my dad had one (same year) when I was about 5 or 6 and I'd like to gift this to him when I'm done. Any help on how I can fix this? If I can even fix it. I provided a video so y'all can hear the knock. Thank you in advance! 

• Like 1
  • Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert on knocks, but that sounds like a bad lower bearing which requires the bottom end of the engine to be rebuilt.

You may be able to find a short block from a wrecking yard for a couple hundred bucks and swap it out. You would have no idea of the block you pull is good though.

11 minutes ago, Bleach said:

I'm no expert on knocks, but that sounds like a bad lower bearing which requires the bottom end of the engine to be rebuilt.

You may be able to find a short block from a wrecking yard for a couple hundred bucks and swap it out. You would have no idea of the block you pull is good though.

Dang 😕 that's a kind of a tough pill to swallow but thank you for the heads up. I'm hoping it might be something else since I don't have too much mechanical experience. 

It would have been this way when it was parked. You had no way to know.