Affordable custom metal parts

In the morning, Ratsun!

I just want to share a pretty useful resource I found recently: https://sendcutsend.com/

I've made a throttle cable support bracket for the Nikki carburetor on my 520 using this service, and I've got the pieces for an alternator bottom mounting bracket. Full write-up on the alternator mount following, and for pictures of the throttle cable bracket from 3d printed prototype to metal pieces on the truck, see my post linked at the bottom of this one.

First, the important little details you might be asking by the end of the post. I have 26 years experience as a drafter, mostly in AutoDesk products, and now that I've escaped full-time desk-sitting forever and no longer have access to the "real thing" I use ProgeCAD, which costs about $200 for a license, looks and feels almost identical to the latest version of plain vanilla AutoCAD, and has an FEA module and some other interesting looking tools available for additional licensing fees.

My 3d printer is an unmodified Ender 3 Pro, I use Cura 4.10.0 for slicer (Windows 7, can't upgrade), and I'm printing lately using Polymaker PLA+.

Sendcutsend has a minimum order of $29, which includes shipping, and these two projects cost me $29 (alternator bracket) and $30.71 (throttle cable bracket). One thing to note is that Sendcutsend provides an estimated shipping date, and for some reason I thought that was an ETA, but it's actually when they expect to ship the order out. Shipping took less than a week if I remember right. I could have paid extra for express shipping, but there's no speeding up the manufacturing - it's first come first serve.