boosting a KA24DE?

datsuntech

I am wanting to boost my KA. I want aprox 250-300 reliable hp to the rear wheels. Can this be done to a stock bottom end or do I need pistons? I really like the torque that the car makes and don't really want lag or a drop in power down low. I would like stockish power till about 3-3500 and then have the boost come on. Is this possible or is it just a pipe dream? I really have little experience messing with turbo engines, but I am a mechanic have done a few swaps and have been building datsuns for the last 20 or so years. This is to be my barely streetable/track car. Any help would be appreciated.

Brock

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

When I was into the s13 scene I had a buddy who had a stock KA24DE running 12psi, it put down a touch over 300 to the wheels. The head gasket only lasted a few weeks, it sure hauled ass though!!!! I'd think with the right build it would last a long time. Franks KA24E running 6psi lasted a long time, and he was VERY hard on it, his KA also had the stock head gasket. Do a build and keep us updated.

Average: 300 rwhp to 350 rwhp, you have to start to expect a little more lag. This is about the perfect "street car" limit. No race gas, just good honest street car fun that is fully capable of bring home a 12 second timeslip on a good run.

Turbo Manifold

T3/T04E .50 Trim compressor, .60 trim compressor housing / Stg 3 (aka TA31) turbine wheel, .48 to .63 A/R exhaust housing. Internal wastegate optional but not recommended.

Downpipe can still be 2.5", but this is as far as I would want to push that.

Front Mount Intercooler (FMIC) It's time to upgrade to a larger front mount as the larger will push more air than the smaller sidemount can cool.

Fuel Control

550cc Injectors

SAFC2 to control your fuel injectors, along with the stock ecu.

MSD BTM At this stage I would be running the BTM to control timing retard.