18r flywheel on L20b

Hi, I'm a newbie here, I have a 200b wagon that currently has an L18, and I'm about to buy an L20B but my flywheel won't work because if the bolt pattern. I also have a ratty old hilux that has an 18r. I know the 18r has 6 bolts like the L20b so I was wondering if I could use that. Cheers, Wilson

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm going to say it's doubtful. Some things like transmissions (made by JATCO) are used by Nissan Mazda Toyota. A lot of the alternators (Hitachi) are suspiciously similar from back then because it's cheaper to not re-invent the wheel all the time.

Tasmania. Have you thought about having 4 of those 5 holes welded up and then have 5 new ones added? You could continue to use your L18 clutch and PP.

I dont really want to get new holes drilled but that is a possibility, do you how many teeth are on an L20b flywheel so I can check if they are the same? I dont really have any money to spend as I'm 15 and dont have a job yet. I'm also curious as to whether this will work. Maybe I'll just have to try it. Cheers for the reply.

The flywheels were all physically 6 bolt mount but drilled and tapped for various diameter pressure plates. The 240sx were 225mm and the D21 trucks are 240mm. Be sure  when you get the matching pressure plate that you also get the matching release bearing collar or housing that holds the release bearing. It's unlikely that the one on the L18 will match the new clutch.

Thanks, lots of useful stuff to know. I compared some auto flex plates off an 18r and an l18 and the ring gear is different so for anyone else wondering, that wont work. I did find a guy with some L20b flywheels though, so I will get my hands on one of them. Thanks for your time. Wilson