Parasitic draw at alternator.

510revisited

I hate to be the guy who makes a million topics, but here goes, again. Sorry admins, if you dont approve, just combine them.

New o'Reillys alt. Charging around 14 ish.... with all new electrical devices disconnected, I still see a 2.7 milliamp draw on the brand new battery. I disconnect the wire from bat to alt, and it drops to 1.7. I disconnect the signal wire from the back of the alt and no more draw. Now I'm no expert, but shouldn't there be absolutely no draw on a perfectly good 510? Meaning there are no alarms, no stereo, nothing that needs a wee bit of juice to stay alive. Could that mean a bad alt??? 

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Well I can't remember every post and I'm not going back through all your other posts on the car or alternator so...

Is this a stock external regulated alternator? If not, was it converted properly? What alternator are you using?

An electric clock will draw power. So will an interior light left on or brake lights that are stuck on, although these last two will draw more than .0027 amps. You sure it's milli amps and not amps??

Try disconnecting the electric choke relay.

36 minutes ago, datzenmike said:

Well I can't remember every post and I'm not going back through all your other posts on the car or alternator so...

Is this a stock external regulated alternator? If not, was it converted properly? What alternator are you using?

An electric clock will draw power. So will an interior light left on or brake lights that are stuck on, although these last two will draw more than .0027 amps. You sure it's milli amps and not amps??

Try disconnecting the electric choke relay.