Swapping a z24 from a 84 4wd into a 2wd 85 sd25

720boi

Hey guys, im wondering what sort of modifications im going to need to do to the wiring(things like if im going to need to swap the harness from the 4wd), fuel lines, oilpan clearance from the 4wd oilpan, and if the motor mounts need modification im not very experienced with big projects and would appreciate any help.

Thanks

Paul :)  

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If I'm understanding your topic correctly you are planning on  pulling an SD25 out of the 1985 2wd and replacing that motor with  Z24 from a 1984 4wd. The wiring is slightly different between the diesel motor and the gas motor although I am not experienced with the wiring differences, but Wayno on this site is.

From experience I know that the motor mounts are not in the same location. The diesel motor mounts in the 85 will be about 1 1/2 inches (guessing) too far forward for the gas motor. The motor mounts (same configuration for the diesel and gasser) for the diesel will have to either be moved back, or an adapter plate made allowing the gas motor to be placed on the diesel mounts. I was in the process of putting an SD22 into a 1973 620 pickup when Wayno gave me a 1982 720 diesel frame. What I found was that the 1973 cab was a perfect fit (body mounts) onto the 1982 diesel frame.

With less work it may be possible to remove the 4wd suspension, the transfer case and and the front driveshaft from the 1984, put the 2wd suspension and driveshaft under the 4wd and never touch the motor mounts or the wiring and end up with what you want. I don't know what you ultimately want to end up with (2wd with a gasser motor?) or your abilities, but thinking out of the box could possibly require less work and money on your part.

Don 

Edited by 620slodat
spelling error