New to the Datsun scene, few questions here

Cjilagan

Hey guys, I'm new to the Datsun community so I thought Id start a thread

I just picked up an 81 king cab and I would like to know more about this truck I am curious as to how expensive building the z22 or if it's even worth it.

Next is has anyone mached up 280z fender flares?

what kind of steering issues will arise when lowering it 3 inches?

And last but not least what is the widest wheel and tire you can run without modification

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

hello. i have an 81 kc myself and might still be getting a rebuilt motor.  where i live, people charge way more to rebuild.  the least expensive was $1400 if i pull it out myself and $2300 if they do all the work.  a rebuilt engine from oreilly's is $1500.  some people will put an older cylinder head but i don't know anything about that.  most likely they'll chime in.  i'm also curious about the "widest wheel and tire" part of your post.  i'm also considering wheel spacers cause the truck just looks tall and skinny.

Ya I just picked mine up 2 days ago pulled the bumpers off, pulled the front cover for the motor cause tensioner was shot and the chain jumped a tooth. Next is to get money to replace the timing chain and tensioner, find a cheap header and run 2 1/4 piping to a flow master 40, then lower it 3 inches either roll fenders or cut them for some flares and wide tires

Three inches will affect the toe in and camber settings enough to wear the tires and steering.

Very very unlikely for the chain to jump a tooth. Never seen or heard of a verified case, there just isn't enough slack in the chain for this. The guides do wear out though. You can check the chain for correct cam timing and adjust.