new to datsuns

cici

hi all im new to this datsun thing you al have i picked up a 74 shortbox and am trying to see if it worth time to put back together bod is great other then the cab bolt have rusted away other then that i can seem to find any rust it has what i think is a bad l20 do to years of siting witha bad head gasket it set is great shap and dash i say is tpical of it age well any info would be great we thx and hope to talk to you all more

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

kk well got to go get kids here so so ill drop a line when i get back o for all thous in the area looking for a rung 620 a guy i know has a 620 he saved from forest auto he askeing 500 drive it home i think it is a 74 it looks just like mine but nasty red

Pull the plugs and spray some WD-40 in there, let sit a few days. Charge the battery and hit the starter repeatedly while watching the crank pulley for movement. My Z24 sat all winter after the swap and if 'froze' ... did this and after 7-8 hits it moved a bit then a bit more and away it went, spins pretty good with the plugs out!

If it's a no go, you've got nothing to loose, so pull the head. You have to change the gasket anyway and this will tell you if the cylinders are all rusted to shit or not.

yes listen to mike he knows his shit!! datsun motors dont just "Give up" also if your turning the crank.. and the truck is rolling its cause its in gear and its not actually locked up.. if the trucks an auto i dont think it would do that but i'd put it in nuetral.. but pull those plugs it makes it alot easier.. head gaskets are easy.. but while your at it do the timing chain its worth it

looked at the chain its rather slopy it hit the wall so was thinking it would need redone and truck was out of gear i mean is was just move with the rench is all will see if it will free up and go from there if i can get it to roll around ill put a head gasket in it and see what happens