Couple of questions

Hi guys newbie here.

So not a long time ago a Datsun 510 came for sale and it was near me, so I went to check it out and I`m not quite sure if I should take it or not.

Its a Canadian model so it has a 3-speed manual transmission, drum brakes in the front and an L13 engine.

Is there any chance I could make an L13 engine L16? I read somewhere that L13 is just de-stroked L16.

I would really like to switch from 3-speed manual to 4 or 5 speed floor shift manual transmission, so my question is are 3-speeds desirable (I would think they are not but you never know) because I would like to sell it and then get myself a 4 speed. I live in Europe and you dont see any of these cars around here so getting parts will be hard.

I couldn`t find answers to the questions, so if anyone could direct me to the link if this has already been answered.

The paintjob on the car is not bad, there isnt any rust to be seen. Im still a bit skeptical because you can still see some inperfections and I hope it isn`t just covered with filler everywhere.

Pics

12885884485_d97e3ba9fd_c.jpg

12885991613_71530a89d1_c.jpg12886308464_1ef810f52c_c.jpg

12885796705_b80f06efe8_c.jpg

So what do you guys think? The price for the car is around 1300$. I`d be happy to hear some feedback about what do you guys think about this car.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There were L13, L14 and L16s available for the early 510 all with different strokes but same bores so swapping some parts like an L16 crank/rods/pistons would make it an L16. 

The L13 used a 4.375 rear end to allow the use of the three speed and such a small motor.

I would look for an L16 and 4 speed and just swap it in to get both.