510 Dash lights (not working)

oldgasman

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

high bean on turn signal switch puts a grount to the relay whhich then puts a double ground to the head lights as the laghts thenself are already hooked to the + side of the battery via the fuse box.

so if you hear a klick on the relay most likey you can bend the tabs off look inside and clean the contacks and it should work. I good indication of this is when you hit the high beam you loose all the lights to all 4 lamps.

Check the headlight switch, I think that's where they draw power form but it doesn't show them on the wiring diagram so I cant be sure.

I second this motion. Had a similar problem on my 720, drove it for a couple of months like that too until one night an old couple flagged me down at a stop light. APPARENTLY my tail lights didn't work either! WHOA! I had been driving at night for three months without tail lights. Got a new switch from Autozone, all is good now.

Dash and tail lamps/side markers are powered from the same source. If the dash lights go out it's almost certain the tails are out also. In order to have high beams your tail lights MUST be working. Your headlamp relay is probably fine.

Probably a blown fuse. 20 amp. Probably the passenger side of the box second one forward from the back. It may look good but not be. Hold a quarter across the fuse clips and see if the taills come on.

I modified your title for two reasons. First not everyone has a 510 so they have to open and read your post to find out if they can help or not with info or parts. Second, someone in the future with dash light problems can use the search function can find this post if clearly marked 510.