Need Direction...L20B

r@+5un620

I have spent the last few days freezing my balls off trying to diagnose and stop all leaks before summer when i plan on going to the river and woods more, I tracked my oil leaks to a slight leak from pan gasket and a minor leak from the oil pressure switch. My question there is will oil come gushing out of the switch if i change it now or should i wait and do it in 700 mi when i do my next oil change? :confused:  My major concern is that in the last 1 and ahalf months i have added a full jug of 50/50 antifreeze 3 times and i cannot figure out why, I have the normal white smoke on cold mornings before warm up and choke shuts off but other than that i cannot for the life of me solve it. I am a newbie to the home mechanic scene, so im still learning about things, any advice on this is much appreciated! Thanks,

-Kyle.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Oil will drip from the oil pressure sender hole while replacing it but that's all. Be sure to get a Nissan sender or sender FOR a Nissan as they have a special BPT British Pipe Thread and not North American NPT. Auto parts charge about $8 for them.

Coolant loss

If replacing the coolant constantly and there are no obvious leaks from hoses, rad or block there is a real risk of a blown head gasket. Pull the plugs and inspect them. One that is visibly much cleaner than the others could be from it being 'steam cleaned'.

oil shouldn't "leak" from the pressure switch, but will drip

have you checked the heater core lines inside cab for water leaks ?

get truck to running temp and build pressure in cooling system than rev it higher about 2500-3000 and check visually around where exhaust and intake manis. meet . sometimes it will drip and evap. in that area if the gaskets older