Brake question- Test drive feedback

I am new to you guys world and am looking for a 510 to play with. I searched and see most people swap to 280zx suspension. I test drove a 510 this week that the brakes were very weak. Is a well sorted factory brake system effective enough to stop a KA car? Seems like the build was solid for most of the car, but the brakes had me walk away to ponder buying it. I can upgrade brakes just trying to get an idea of how much of a money pit this will be.

Thanks

Phillip

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks I asked  because I was not doing any spirited driving, It just seemed weak. I thought it may be due for some new lines and a good bleeding.I feel if I tear out the factory I would want to have it stop as strongly as my other cars. I am looking at a 510 to autocross so if stock brakes are a bad Idea in that application then I know to look to upgrade.

Don't know what your other cars are to compare to the 510 you drove. It is equipped with what we assume are factory design brakes. Keep in mind the 510 does not have power brakes and will feel very different than most modern cars.

The 280zx upgrade will help with stopping power up front. Some sound brake lines and a good brake adjust will help as well. There are other mods like rear disc or power brakes that can help even more. The question would be how far are you willing to take this car?

Lots of info out there to be found with a search.

I would not pass on a car because of the brakes if the price was right.

Don't know what your other cars are to compare to the 510 you drove. It is equipped with what we assume are factory design brakes. Keep in mind the 510 does not have power brakes and will feel very different than most modern cars.