Learning The Datsun Way - Hooray for 720s!

SoundByte

I'm new to Ratsun, and overall fairly new to car work, but I recently picked up an '84 720 King Cab for $400 on Craigslist. The only catch was that the PO had driven it into the corner of their neighbor's house, so the passenger side of its face was/is pretty mangled. I got excited about getting to work on it, and completely forgot to take a before picture. However, I did snap one after the first serious session of removing junk parts, and pulling the corner out with ratchet straps and my friends' bumper. 

zVYSmQ0.jpg?1

I'm really excited to have this rad little truck, and I thought I'd share it with you all, since my Datsun friend sent me here. I've been helping him out with his 510 and his 280Z, so when I started looking for pickups, a Datsun seemed like the way to go. 

I just put new rubber on it today, and that improved things a lot (the tires that came on it were scary, dangerous junk). Tomorrow, I'm driving 200 miles (road test!) to get some parts from a Ratsun member who's going to sell me the body parts I need for what (I think) is a very generous price. I'm definitely looking forward to puttering around in this truck for many years. 

• Like 1
  • Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I DD an E30, so I'm all about boxy 80's vehicles. I can't get enough of simple design. Also, the more I look at 720s, the more I dig their lines. I'm also totally all about the Z24! What a badass little engine!

• Like 1

I've been having a lot of fun with them. The E30 is my brother's old car (he never took much care of it, crashed it and sold it to our dad), and the 2002 is my dad's old car (he left it to me when he died, and he DD'd it for 40 years. No garage queen here, but was a quick fix, even after 5 years of sitting).

I don't have a good picture of the 2002 on its own, but I snapped one of the pair when I had the E30 in for some work:

IdK8f.jpg?1