Vehicle Purchase Question

I am a beginner among beginners as the 71 goon I just purchased will be the first vehicle in my name. And here's my situation: license and insurance is in Illinois, I go to school in New Hampshire, I'm out in California for the summer, I bought a car in Oregon. Plates are good for two years and I have a dated bill of sale.

I have looked on the internet for an answer to this question, and maybe I'm not searching for the right thing, but maybe one of you can help out. Is there a legally "correct" state for me to get the car registered in my name?

Cheers,

Eric

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You want to register the car in the State that your permanent home of record is in. It should be the current address thats associated to your license. You usually have a set number of days to register the car with no added fees. Then at a certain point a late fee is applied daily up to a certain total fee. Some states will give you unlimited time if you bought out of state and need to register it in a different one. 

In Washington you have 15 days to register a vehicle after purchase. After 15 days its like $25/day up to $100 total or something. I passed that by a good amount, but since I bought in Oregon and was titling in Washington, the fee was waived. 

If your license and insurance is in Illinois, I would register and title the car there. Could be tricky though since you may not be back there. I would check with both Illinois and New Hampshire about their time requirements for registering. I wouldnt want to be driving around an unregistered vehicle though and a lot of places require you to do it in person the first time. 

If you go into a Cali DMV they should point you in the right direction

• Like 1