Bought a 79 620 want trans upgrade

Hey, I'm brand new to datsun. I've always been a toyota guy but I just traded my 1988 celica gts for a 1979 620. I've always liked these trucks and I wanted a truck for work and play haha. I'm impressed with how much power it puts down for the year but top speed needs work. There's no tack and 4th seems to go forever, 40-70? Top speed is suppost to be 87 but I'm too chicken to push it right now. I have a good amound of body andpaint ahead of me whick i can handle. and the motor only has 125k and seems extremely healthy. It came with an extra 4 speed.... but I want a better highway gear... soo what 5 speeds could I put in without having to change my driveshaft and with little modification?

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Your 79 620 came stock with a 5 speed.

Where did that go?

And if you don't have a 5 speed-what motor do you have?

There are 2 main lengths between the L-series trannys.

26.5" and 31".

Knowing what you really have will help produce positive answers for you.

Pics would be great.

Welcome to Ratsun!

Your 79 620 came stock with a 5 speed.

Where did that go?

And if you don't have a 5 speed-what motor do you have?

There are 2 main lengths between the L-series trannys.

26.5" and 31".

Knowing what you really have will help produce positive answers for you.

Pics would be great.

Welcome to Ratsun!

I'll get picks up later today. It has the stock l20b in it. Not sure why there's a 4 speed in it but I also have a second 4 speed. I thought 5 speed was just an option. I'm really new to datsun as you can tell. I just measured the tranny in my garage and ti's the 31" and I don't see a pan on it like I read about in another thread.... So maybe that was the original 5 speed?

31" 4 speed?

Wonder if it is for a Z series?

Take some pics.

DatzenMike, and others are better with that stuff than I.