Gas tank and POR 15?

Just curious how compatible this stuff is with gas?

A few months back I tried to repair a small pin hole in my gas tank with JB stick, but it seeps.

What i was thinking of doing as a more permanent solution is to full it 1/4 with pea gravel, shake it around a good bit to knock out any sediment and tear any rust out, flush it with some harsh chemicals, and coat the outside of the tank with POR15. I figure as long as I keep gas in the tank, it shouldn't rust again.

If the POR15 resists fuel, it would seal the exterior of the tank and stop any leakage.

I've never used POR15 before so I'm looking for an excuse to use it. I think this would be a good trial run.

Input?

Edited by metalmonkey47
  • Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not looking to line the inside of the tank. I've had bad experiences with that stuff before and I'm not gonna want to play with it again.

For the price, I might as well take it somewhere to be professionally repaired.

I'm gonna be ordering some POR15 anyways, so I'm curious about how it would work.

It works good my wagon tank as it and ive done a good 20 motorcycle tanks with it. Take your sweet ass time dont rush and follow the instructions in the kit get it as clean as you possibly can. Some of the real nasty tanks ive used muriatic acid first. Radiator shops are good at cleaning fuel tanks also. JB weld will eventually disolve learned that the hard way.

I'm not looking to line the inside of the tank. I've had bad experiences with that stuff before and I'm not gonna want to play with it again.

For the price, I might as well take it somewhere to be professionally repaired.

I'm gonna be ordering some POR15 anyways, so I'm curious about how it would work.

mmm, try it. If its just some extra POR you have. Couple of coats might actually stop it for awhile.

But it seems ghetto.