oily spark plugs & low compression in 2 cylinders

Robitussin

So... 1st post, I'm a newb mechanic btw. Anyways got that L28 in the ol' 280zx.

I was thinking either the piston rings or cylinder walls that need attention. I heard that a damaged up head gasket can cause 2 adjacent cylinders to drop in compression. I'm trying to figure out what to look for before I open it up, and whether or not to bring it to a shop. Thanks for any tips/input

Also-- i'm trying to save $!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest kamakazi620

So... 1st post, I'm a newb mechanic btw. Anyways got that L28 in the ol' 280zx.

I was thinking either the piston rings or cylinder walls that need attention. I heard that a damaged up head gasket can cause 2 adjacent cylinders to drop in compression. I'm trying to figure out what to look for before I open it up, and whether or not to bring it to a shop. Thanks for any tips/input

Also-- i'm trying to save $!

Are All 6 plugs oily???

Welcome to the pack. Good bunch of people here.

We need to know more before you start taking it apart. Have you driven it enough to know how much oil it consumes? does it smoke? When does it smoke? morning startup, accelaration or decelaration?

Morning startup and decelaration is usually bad valve stem seals. Accelaration is worn rings. Having a leakdown test done will solve the mystery as well.

If it has a blown head gasket between two cylinders, the adjoining cylinders will usually have the same low compression. Almost identicle. They are pushing their compression into each other.

Are the plugs in question black and powdery looking, or sticky and shiney? I would hate to see you pull your motor down because of a dirty air filter. Hope this helps.

thanks for the welcome aboard--

• can't check all the spark plugs right now, been raining all day, and I don't have access to my garage right now. I checked 2 of them a couple days ago, both were oily.