need some advice

Eagle_Adam

i have a 71 4 dr 510 and it will not start.:unsure: I am fairly new to dealing with electrical problems so please excuse my improper terminology. When you go to turn the key to start the car you get nothing. There is power to gauges but i am only getting 6 volts to the ignition. If im correct it supposed to be 12 volts, I have full power at the battery. After further review i can tell someone has altered parts of the wiring before to put in extra gauges and a stereo :angry: . Im curious if anybody knows what Im missing. I will add more detail once my uncle comes over later today, he knows a lot more than i do. I just want to solve it myself if i can. :P

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The battery will be about 12 volts but if one of the terminals is loose or corroded it won't get through to the switch. Check both ends of both cables including the ground on the head and the positive on the starter lug. There should be also a ground strap from the negative cable or post to the body sheet metal. You could also check for loose, blown or more likely corroded connections between the fuses and the fuse holders in the fuse box. Try unplugging the ignition switch a few times to clean the contacts to the wire harness.

Update:

I am going through different wires checking for power and i can come across the fact that one of the wires going to the ignition switch is good and one is bad and by that i mean one has good continuity one doesn't. I also found that there is no ground strap from the negative cable/post to the body sheet metal.:( My uncle is taking a look now so i hope he can help me figure this out. Once he has had a good look i will post what he says too. I have cleaned all connections i could find and cleared out all corrosion too. I will update you guys as i figure this out. Thanx in advance for your help!!!! :D

Maybe a picture? You said someone has messed with the wiring?