Hitachi Carb Rebuild Questions

bilzbobaggins

Ive gotten the carb apart. Im fairly certain its been done before as i found(or didnt find)missing parts.

I got a can of chem dip. EVERYTHING GOES IN THIS THAT IS NOT RUBBER OR PLASTIC???? Right??

Should every piece in and out go in????

This is my first time doing a carb. I put everything in labeled zippy bags..LOL...i look like a bad dope dealer.

Any thoughts or suggestions will be awesome to the max...

thanks

jeff

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

USE THE CARB DIP!!!!!! LET THE JET BLOCK SOAK !!!!!!! LET ALL 3 PIECES OF CARB SOAK!!!!!!! i can stress this enough, the carb dip is designed to chemically dissolve varnish left by gasoline, spray carb cleaner alone is not enough!!! the carb spray will work great to loosen the dirt and grime but to actually clean the varnishes from the passages you need to use the dip, let it soak and take your time, i actually soaked mine then scrubbed it with soapy water then pressure washed it to rinse it, you could also try the soda blasting method after the dip to ensure cleanliness!!!

i hope you didnt throw all of the jets into one bag, they are different size orfices even though they may look the same, the secondary and primary jets are different, i have found it easier to draw the jet block on a piece of white paper then lay the jets out exactly where they go so when it comes time to reassamble you just put them back in the same hole that you drew it coming out of

Got the thing put back together....got everything back on the truck.....wont run...finally got it to run w/ lots of pedal....sounds like its running on 2 cylinders.....

rained all gd day...had to quit when the sun went down....

gonna run four new plugs tommarow after work

gd...thing was clean, dry and ready to be put back together....let it dry over a day...blew it out....all jets are in the correct places....oh well