'77 280 parts into a '78 510 wagon?

Carter?

I own a 1978 510 wagon and have recently been given access to a friends '77 280. it is a project he started years ago and has realized it will never see completion so he is basically parting it out and giving me first dibs.

What are the chances that an engine/tranny swap will be hassle free?

Any input would be very welcomed as I am a complete newbie to wrenching.

Thanks all.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I own a 1978 510 wagon and have recently been given access to a friends '77 280. it is a project he started years ago and has realized it will never see completion so he is basically parting it out and giving me first dibs.

What are the chances that an engine/tranny swap will be hassle free?

Any input would be very welcomed as I am a complete newbie to wrenching.

Thanks all.

Forget the motor! It's two clyinders too long.

The first 5 speed came out in '77 so see if it has one. I think the A10 used a short tranny so it might not 'drop in' but if free then it just costs the driveshaft shortening.

The rims should fit. Alternator. Check the front disc brakes for fit. Fuel pump.

Some Welding Required :lol: , take a look at the old Nissan Skylines ( I mean the early 70's versions ) than google SR20det and see how close the swap is with the modern 4 cylinder in the 510's :cool: Your best bet for power is an SR20DET Swap ( If you have the confidence , ability , and tools than go for it ! ) But again I have never owned a 510 or datsun truck only 3 240z's !!! ( I am waiting for a good deal on a 510 right now :blink: )

If the 280 is complete , can you build/restore it ? or keep both cars ? :cool:

Victoria B.C. Canada