620 Engine quit- quick question

rover215

Was driving my '77 620 for 3 months- no problem. In fact, it was running great the whole time (I've only owned it for around 3 months). Drove it to a bike shop to do some quick business, killed it for maybe 20 min, then started it and took off. About a block and a half later, it sputters and dies. I could get it started with full choke but I had to floor it to keep it BARELY running.

Turned over great but wouldn't fire. Tried some starter fluid but it wouldn't even start with that- not even for a second. There's fuel in the sight glass of the carb so I'm guessing it's getting fuel. The plugs, cap and rotor don't look awesome but it was running great before this happened so I don't know why it would just die like that.

Probably premature to ask what's going on with it since I haven't replaced any of the aforementioned bits. I'll do that tomorrow. Oh- it's got electronic ignition. I'm not a mechanic- just a mildly informed tinkerer. Any thoughts?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Check to make sure your manifold bolts are tight and your carb is bolted down tight to the manifold... Snug is plenty tight enough, I always use a short stubby 1/4 inch ratchet just to make sure I dont get overly torque happy when tightening stuff down, theyre easy to strip.

Assuming its a hitachi... are all your wires and vacuum lines hooked up on your carb?

Check to make sure your manifold bolts are tight and your carb is bolted down tight to the manifold... Snug is plenty tight enough, I always use a short stubby 1/4 inch ratchet just to make sure I dont get overly torque happy when tightening stuff down, theyre easy to strip.

Assuming its a hitachi... are all your wires and vacuum lines hooked up on your carb?