80W90 Gear Oil in Tranny? (Guess I'm not very good with WIKI search)

rbastedo

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The transmission and rear end oil should be changed every 30,000 miles. If you don't know... do it.

Two quarts should be close. Remove the drain bung at the bottom if you haven't and clean it off. It's magnetic and collects ferrous metal particles. Vehicle level, fill through the side bung until it won't take any more. Good to go. Use a piece of garden hose and a funnel from a dollar store. Run the hose down from the engine compartment and into the tranny.

While you are at it check the rear end. Pop the fill bung and the oil level should be up even with it. If draining clean the magnetic bung.

Thanks again!

I have one of those pumps so I can pump it in.

Neither plug had any stuff on it so I guess that's a good thing!!

What would happen if I could only find GL-5? You using CAPS when you say "NOT" makes me think the gearbox might explode if I use GL-5.

The auto parts places around here only carry GL-5. Next I'm going to go over to the True Value and see what they have. They do carry motor oil and gear oil.

GL-5 is used in newer car rear ends and transmissions and contains more of a certain additive to prevent wear on the gear teeth. GL-4 has it too but to a lesser degree. This additive is not good for brass/bronze parts like the balk or syncro rings used in our older transmissions. Seems like the GL-4 is slowly being phased out and it's hard to find. Some say you can use GL-5 some say that it will chew up the brass. Nissan manuals say to use GL-4 but dealers probably use GL-5 and say that it's ok, hoping any problems from it's use will be far down the road. If you were to tell them that you are aware of the controversy and will be back for a new tranny if it goes bad I bet they would change their story fast.