Another carb question. weber 45s

I know this has been covered in great detail but I'm starting to get confused with what applies to my scenario (And I'm a novice with carbs).

L20b with race cam and weber dcoe 45's. Was running okay but a little rich so I wanted to fine tune a little, specially with the incoming cold weather. 

I started to fine tune as per this video as it seemed to be a similar setup with an aggressive cam.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoUOcPYqDmU&ab_channel=FastRust

1st- I set the idle speed higher @1100rpms. Was running about the same just not stumbling at idle as much. I drove it around and decided to go further into tuning.

2nd -  I decided to try my hand at balancing which is when I started having a problem. I started adjusting the balance screw and syncing via an air flow meter. They were synced pretty well but I started to notice a hesitation when I would goose the throttle. I tried to go back and thats when sh!t started to hit the fan.

3rd - I now have all the butterflies showing in the first hole of the progression ports. I set the Idle screw a 1/2 turn into the linkage. If it gets close to turning over the carbs pop and smoke. I stopped here as not to do any further damage. (I pulled the plugs and they were dark. OIi?)

Should I be going all the way to square one and do a baseline with idle mixture and air bleed screws? I thought I would have to go that far since it was running okay before. 

If it aint broke... I know. 

Any help is appreciated! 

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

That video sets the idle mix and balances all cylinders... but what about above idle? full throttle acceleration, part throttle and cruising speed? If the idle mix is set properly does that mean the mixture is correct all the way up?

After a little tinkering I think I'm onto something..