75 620 L20b engine issues Please read!

HntnFsh

New guy here and hoping for some insight from you guys. Ive done searches on here and did a lot of reading. Also searched all over the internet. I know I'm a newbie and I understand that has a lot of bearing on forums. I have belonged to a couple Hunting and Fishing forums for a long time and Always try to help others whenever I can. I am hoping that you will understand, and not just help me, but read this story, and more importantly help my Dad.

Heres my story. Its long, but very important to me.

My dad will turn 93 next January. He has a 1975 620 with a dump bed that he bought about 15 years ago. This is a truck that a relative bought brand new. He couldnt remember if it was bought with the dump bed, or if the dump bed was installed right after they bought. Anyhow. He always wanted this truck. The original owner passed away and Dad stumbled across the truck sitting with a bad motor. Several years ago he had the motor rebuilt. It sat for about 5 years but he would go out and turn it over by hand regularly to keep the bearings etc lubricated. About 6 or 7 years ago, while he was snowbirdiing in Arizona I pulled the truck down to my shop and dropped a 5 speed tranny and the rebuilt motor in it. Then parked it at his house for a surprise. Dad has tinkered with it over the years trying to make it look better etc. He drove it a little but I would be surprised if he had 1000 miles on the engine.

Awhile back he took a small load of metal to the scrap yard. While there he raised the bed to dump it and left the power switch on. It ran the battery dead. The guys at the yard push started it for him and when it started, it backfired and blew the muffler off. I put a momentary switch on it to eliminate that problem.