Need input here.

peekin220

I'm looking for additional input here. basically sky is not the limit with cash. looking to spend upwards of 7k is my high.

my interests are getting a datsun 620 with sr20det and full coilovers with disc breaks. do you think it can be done? im not a mechanic. i thinking a cheap datsun pickup and a 240sx already having a sr20 in it. and paying someone to do the work here? that or im scanning craigslist to find one now.. 

how would you go about obtaining my goal with 7k cash? 

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi 220 and welcome to Ratsun.

Wow I don't know... paying someone to do the work? We've had several members pay to have work done and didn't think to check the builders qualifications and worse they paid in advance. Work got too hard for the builder it got delayed, money ran out because they didn't have a solid plan or knowledge of what was needed. The worst builds were the ones that were completed... they were totally unsafe hack jobs. There are probably lots of fools out there willing to take your money. This is a one way trip to the poor house.

Research, research, research. Where possible do or learn to do your own work. Be totally involved and know more about it than the guy doing it, so you are on top of everything. Read everything about this and related SR swaps in other vehicles. Any questions write them down and look for the answers. This will likely give you some idea of what it will cost.

Set out a plan for time and expenses and include everything needed from your research. Don't assume your buddy with his fathers stick welder is going to knock out a custom set of motor mounts for you. If you are not prepared to do the work yourself, you need someone who CAN, and do it right, someone with experience doing this swap.