85 720 4x4 - Starting problems

PaddymanChris

Hi mates,

This is my first post, but I've been lurking here for a while using some of your guys' advice quite often since I purchased my 85 pickup. It only has 83,000 miles on it (been sitting for a while with the guy I bought it from). Recently, it has started to struggle with starting in the morning. Here is a video of what it does...

Since buying the truck, I've replaced the spark plugs, ignition wires, ignition rotor, distributor, and battery. I've also replaced all the vacuum lines with new ones. I'm not sure if this is a starter problem or what. It only struggles if it's been sitting overnight or for a long while. I start it for work in the morning and it struggles, then on my lunch break it starts just fine, and when I leave for home it usually starts just fine.

I'm pretty new to working on cars, but I'm really enjoying tinkering with this thing. It runs beautifully when it starts and runs, it just struggles in the mornings. Oh, and I live in Utah, and it's been getting pretty cold in the mornings, so that may be contributing to the problem. Any advice for a beginner like me? Any would be greatly appreciated!

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi mates,

This is my first post, but I've been lurking here for a while using some of your guys' advice quite often since I purchased my 85 pickup. It only has 83,000 miles on it (been sitting for a while with the guy I bought it from). Recently, it has started to struggle with starting in the morning. Here is a video of what it does...