Clutch Slave Cylinder Problem

510SSS

Hi everyone, I have a L20b with a 280zx 5 Speed, I looked under my hood today and I noticed hydraulic fluid leaking on the ground. I have a MasterPro, slave cylinder from O'reilly's and It appears to be leaking directly from the area where the rod is inserted into the rubber boot. Is this a common problem with chinese slave cylinders? Should I try to get the Japanese Branded one? Or could an incorrect adjustment of the slave cylinder have caused this? I drove the car a few months ago with this setup and the clutch operated fine. Now i get no pressure at all when stepping on the clutch. Do they just fail like this when brand new still? When buying a replacement I should ask for a slave cylinder for a datsun 510, and not the 280zx correct? Also can I change the slave cylinder with the engine and transmission fully installed in the car or must I do it now while the engine is out?

• Like 1
  • Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

the slaves are the same. However the 510 uses a threaded rod with a half ball on the end and a 12mm jam nut.

the Z car one might use a different rod. You could just use the old rod and use the newer slave.

I can change this with the engine and tranny in the car correct?

Im hoping this is not s serious question as You can tell by looking at it. breck the hose off first  then loosen the 14mm bolts then unscrew the slave from the hose.

Of coarse you can!  maybe a 510 is too much for your skills as these are simple cars.

• Like 1