new alternator...

spook420

just threw on a new over the weekend and i think it hooked up right...i cant read the diagram(or any electrical diagram for that matter) but now it seem that the 'charge' light on the dash is on constant. for the most part the battery lead and ground are hooked up the same way. if its not hooked up right would this light be on like it is? also should i change out the voltage regulator with it?

i get back on here over the next hour and put some pictures up to better explain this matter. im at work so i will be back!!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Why did you replace the alternator? If it wasn't charging that could have been the regulator, or the alternator but rarely both.

Or perhaps they gave you the wrong alternator. If the back of the alternator has a S and an L connector, it's the wrong one.

i changed it cause the bearing was going bad(squealing like a little pig). im not a wiz mechanic like some of these guy here and just change out the bearing. beside when i take the old one back its only going to be $20 when its said and done with. that not a bad investment if you ask me.

i was asking if i SHOULD change out the voltage regulator with the new alternator. ive heard its best to do that. this is the diagram that came with the paper work. connected the F and N plug back how it should be. connected the BATT connection back the way it should be. and NOT in the diagram there was an E on new alt.(also on the old one, im guessing ground) and connected that back where it should be.i was going to keep the old one for a week or two before i took it back to see how this one work out.

OdLAO.jpg

does anybody have a pic for the location of the regulator.

take the alternator to Napa and have it Load cked

new alternators are about 35$ and ck them there before leaving.