questions about relays and rewiring

i got about half way through restoring all of the wiring clusters on my 1979 620 kc when i realized i would probably be better off starting fresh with a wiring kit ( most likely ez wiring). i just have a little bit more to find out before i order the kit... SO, i've read a few articles in magazines and on websites about using these kits to wire hot rods, starting just from a hollow truck with nothing in it but the engine. so they never say anything about relays other than the flasher unit. but my truck is FULL of relays, right? what about the programmed control unit? the ignition relay? the inhibitor relay? the compressor relay? i swear i have searched the shit out of the forums here on ratsun and everywhere else but i haven't found an answer. i feel pretty stupid for having to ask, but i am pretty new at this stuff so... am i going to be able to just gut ALL of the electronics and start fresh with a kit? or do i have to save all of the relays and use them? i have a bunch of extra relays and stuff from my spare dash, so i have everything i need if that is the case.

please awesome smart ratsun dudes help me out here!!!

oh and duh it's not a topic without at least a couple of OICS

DSCF2864.jpg

DSCF2863.jpg\

DSCF2853.jpg

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Ok, go through and make a list of all things that can be switch on.

Now mark which of these should have its own power (not shared) when turned on due to possibly being too much draw on the wire.

These will be relayed. So relay them.

The thing is, you will have to figure out where to grab the power leads.

You will probably need to incorporate you stock headlight relay, or figure out how to use another.

I am trying to think what relays my goon has...

headlight/horn/flasher... I think that might be all.

Relays can help make things safer by isolating a circuit. But it is not always necessary.