Trunk mounted Battery ?'s

I want to mount my battery in the trunk of my KA 510 and I'm looking for options for wiring it up. I have never done a trunk mount battery before. Anyone want to share the way they wired it up? I need to hash out how to run the power to the ECM and accessories. I want to run a solenoid so I don't have a constantly hot wire running to the starter. Anything I haven't thought of or need to know? I have a tendency to overcomplicate my projects, so a nice simple way of wiring it up is my goal.

TIA

Brock

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I know you said to didnt want a constant hot to the starter but thats what I did. I ran a 2 gauge wire from the battery underneath my car along the uni-body frame. then I just bolted it to the starter where the constant power normally does. Then I made a new wire to a little fuse block/ connector block that I ran hot wires from the new mini block to the different things I needed power to. I also ran I line from the bat stud on the alternator right to the starter. essentially just leangthening the wire from the battery but using the started as a conection host. My starter always had constant power to it anyways.

for ground I just drilled a hole in this little rim thing in the trunk on the wheel well. and connected a neg cable to that. and the block in the front just bolted to the uni-body frame as well. worked out pretty good and only took me about 30 minutes.

What do you mean unibody frame? I was under the impression that a unibody was called that due to a lack of frame. As for the starter... I thought most starters had a relay on the positive side, not the negative. Isn't the starter grounded directly to the battery, and the frame to the engine? Then again, I have been known to be completely wrong...