L16 wont idle for shit

510Hansi

hey, my L16 wont idle at all.. as soon as i let my foot off the gas it dies immediatly. it use to idle fine before, but i recently got the distributor checked (duals pionts set vacuum advanced checked and set) and i got my 32/36 carb rebuilt from a local carb shop. compression is the following: 130,145,130,125. the sparks plugs are very black.i opened up the idle jets & mixture screw and sprayed carb cleaner till it came out the mixture side. While the engine was running, i sprayed carb cleaner all around the intake manifold & carb to check for air leaks and i found none. im new to theses motors so if theres any info you guys need please dont hesistate to ask. I believe its timming related, im gonna go pick up my timming light and check timming again. its 0 degreees at the crank (TDC) and then 10 degrees at the distrubitor correct?

CLICK ON PIC FOR VIDEO!!!!!!!!!!!

th_be129b92.jpg

61114555.jpg

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Firing order.....Double check that...!!!

1,3,4,2 Counter-clock wise rotation @ dist..

...... it use to idle fine before, but i recently got the distributor checked (duals pionts set vacuum advanced checked and set)

Points set or replaced?

ran fine before, got it rebuilt and re-set and now it don't eh lol

check your air/fuel mixture screw and idle screw. after a rebuild it could be off

yeah, i tried messing with the mixture but it doesnt help much since i got to keep one hand on the throttle ( to keep it from dying) and the other adjusting the screw. i also backed out the idle screws allllllll the way out ( i took them out) and it still wouldnt idle. its like idle does not exist to this bi**h.